I think I've received a phishing email and may have clicked on a link in it. What should I do?

Phishing is an attempt to obtain valuable or sensitive information often in the form of emails. These emails can look like they have been sent by people on your course, real organisations or the University. These emails usually contain a link asking you to enter your username and password but may also prompt you to open files or documents.

An example of what a phishing email looks like can be found here.

If you have received a phishing email you should delete it immediately without opening it.

If you've already opened and clicked on a link in the email you will need to change your password straight away. 

You can do this by contacting the Library. If you use the same password for any other accounts you should also change those.

We would also recommend checking that no new email rules have been set up on your student account.
Phish emails can set up rules such as forwarding all your emails to another address without your knowledge. 

To check your email rules and instructions on how to delete any please see this FAQ 
How do I delete an email rule in Outlook?

If you think you have received a phishing email please do not hesitate to contact us and we can report it and fix any issues with your account.

 

[Ask Us Home button]

-